Tourism has caused environmental problems in many parts of the world. What sort of problems has been caused and what can be done about them?

There have been challenges to the well being of the environment poised by the movement of people, from one place to another, seeking relaxation and fun. Overtime, this has presented a burden on the need to have a clean and sustainable ecosystem. The drawbacks are dire; however efforts can be made to curb continuous deterioration.

One of the major disservice done to the environment from Tourism is the overwhelming burden on different modes of transportation that spiral down to consequential harm. For example, people move from one continent to another, from far and wide and therefore make use of air travel. Although, its the fastest means and more convenient; the need to bombard our air space with countless trips of flights have adverse effect on air pollution, as jet fuel - a proceed from carbon - is still the main source of energy that powers this means of transport.

In as much as there is always the need to travel by air, there should be measures put in place to monitor over dependence of air transport for solely Tourism purposes. For instance, intending travellers should make use of land transport - especially the non fossil fuel models (electric cars, bicycles) - for short distance trips and cut down on frequent need to travel long distances thereby reducing dependency on air transportation.

In conclusion, the need for engaging oneself in act of learning and leisure through Tourism is essential but come with a cost on the environment, in most cases through air transport. However measures to put restraint is necessary and also important.