Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been vast differences between how the courts across the globe have been giving justice when solving crimes in their areas of jurisdiction. In some countries, the panel of judges is not allowed to have any historical data regarding the accused. However, I strongly believe that to circumspect all possibilities of the crime, and solve the case faster, the information regarding any history of the accused must be shared with the justice panel.

This first argument in support of data availability connects in the light of finding common threads and patterns in the unjust act. For example, in the case of a murder, if there is historical evidence which finds a lot of common links between the past and current case, the chances of solving the case faster rise multifold. Notwithstanding the above salient reason, giving information about the history of accused also enables casting a wider net and getting more information to further support solving the case as soon as possible. For instance, in case of a drug mafia, if the panel giving justice has all information about the wrong doings of the accused in the past, they can gather further proof by summoning more related people to understand about the current case. This can speed up gatheirng of proofs and evidences to solve the case in lesser time. Not only is this point salient, but also in case the accused has no criminal record, it can help the judges to look at the case from a fresh perspective and identify the whether the accused is actually guilty in case anything seems fishy.

All in all, giving permission to the jury to look into the past record of the accused manifests serious controversy, but the supportive reasons mentioned above demand such action.