The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that using cell phones lead to antisocial behaviors similar to smoking. Therefore, it should be forbidden in certain areas like smoking. Although I believe cell phones have the potential to result in more closed up individuals, their benefits outweigh their disadvantageous and thus prohibiting them cannot be a logical solution.

On the one hand, spending plenty amount of time on mobile phones has turned people to be more introvert. Young adults are so attached to their mobile phones that cannot be seen without them. People spend most their time socializing on the virtual web instead of paying attention to their real surrounding. They miss spectacular opportunities to make new friends or even find their other half while looking down at their phone screens.

On the other hand, mobile phones have changed human’s life tremendously for the better. Friends and family members are just a phone call away. People can browse the internet for any question that pops up in their mind at any given moment. Besides, cell phones like any other invention can be used in both ways, i.e., to human advantageous or disadvantageous. They do not necessarily cause antisocial behaviors since they can be used to bring people closer and help them to keep in touch while being miles away. Moreover, mobile phones give humans the chance to share their special moments with their loved ones in an instance. For example, when celebrating a birthday, grandparents who live in another country can join the party through video conferencing applications such as Skype. Hence, this new technology has made communication easier, faster and more reliable.

In conclusion, cell phones can make people to be more drawn to themselves and avoid social interactions while drowning themselves in their smart phones. Nevertheless, mobile phones can be used in beneficial manners to help individuals to get closer to each other instead of growing apart, and like any other technology it depends on how they are used. As a result, a better approach would be teaching people the culture of using such devices instead of banning them altogether.