You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

•The television is good for you.

•Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the global era, Television has always been a source of entertainment and information. Though it is one of the media that is considered by any age group it has its own pros and cons attached to it. I would be elaborating its benefits and drawbacks beneath.

Firstly, I would like to put on some light to its pros, which are many, the basic benefit of watching the television is that it is a source of information readily or lively available. Although, we live in a society where computers or internet is much used still there are many places where television is still the source of stress buster or gaining information. We have television channels available almost in every language and there are so many daily soaps being shown which is much appreciated by the household women. News channels telecast the live news, sports channels cover the live matches. All of these act as a big stress buster for many people who like watching television daily.

The biggest disadvantage of watching television is that it puts a lot of pressure or strain to the eyes of an individual. We have many new generation televisions available which talk that the screen is no longer harmful to the eyes. However, we all know that there are harmful rays which come out from it which is very injurious to your eyes and health. The other drawback of it is that it becomes an addiction for many household beings. Studies have shown that many housewives have shown the symptoms of anxiety, once they become addicted to daily television soaps. The kids at home also become very habitual of watching television after observing their parents.

To close, television has its own benefits and limitations. We should restrict ourselves by taking advantage of it and not getting dependent on it. There are many sources of entertainment available these days, we should utilize our time in a much-organized way and plan our activities from which we can avail the benefit.