Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Health is one’s strongest wealth. The services of health should be subsidized or made free of cost to the public even if the latest technology-driven services are not available due to the high cost. I completely agree with the statement because basic health service is very necessary for any individual. There are many factors which support my agreement. In fact, few of the countries are currently giving free service.

Firstly, basic health services are very routine in nature like fever, cold which keeps on recurring at every second home. If the basic treatment will be made free, an individual can save money for expensive treatments. Secondly, the public can take medical insurance for expensive treatments as basic consultation is not covered in the insurance. In India, polio was a big problem till 1995, once the government made it free, India has eradicated the problem from the root and India do not has even 1% of the patients of polio since 2005. An initiative of the government towards the elimination of a disease can help the general public.

However, the negative implication of the same could be that the doctors may not give the treatment to the patient since the patient cannot afford the same. The traditional approach of dealing with a disease may not work out as every day a new disease is growing up.

To close upon, free health services can really benefit the public in every country even to the niche of basic services only. We can eradicate many diseases in the starting only so that it does not prosper in the body which calls for an expensive treatment.