Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities.

What are the reasons?

Do advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

Due to technological advances in urban areas, youth is relocating from their villages and underdeveloped towns to metro cities. In this essay, I shall examine research from various sources to discuss the cause of this movement followed by its merits and demerits.

To begin with, teenagers as well as young adults are enticed by a plethora of career prospects in big cities. This is because the dearth of resources in rural areas caps the number of opportunities for the people living there. To exemplify, recent research by Harvard shows that in developed cities educational institutes, as well as IT companies, are 20 times more than in small villages and towns. Consequently, to get employed in Multi-National Companies people move to metropolitan areas so that they can study in a finer environment and prepare for their respective jobs in advance.

Although this relocation ameliorates the educational and employment opportunities, it also has numerous drawbacks. For instance, over-crowded places because of the movement of a vast array of the population in some areas, which requires plenty of residential estates. Thus, as a result of deforestation, environmental problems arise. Moreover, air pollution due to increased use of motor vehicles for the commute is also a major problem. However, these issues could be tackled by the government by encouraging the use of public transport and constructing condominiums for residential purposes. Seen in this light, it is almost certain that the advantages of this development are far more than the disadvantages.

To conclude, despite the environmental problems of the shifting of young people to metropolitan areas, which can be resolved with a proactive approach in the future, the benefits it provides to young people proliferate the economic growth.