The ability to maintain friendships for a long period is more important than making new friends in order to be happy.

All individuals are getting involved in the relationships through their lives. In this regard, while some people hold on this view that they should keep their old friendships anyway, others believe that making new friends is required. As far as I am concerned, making new friends is necessary for all people because not only could they learn many new points of view, but they also have more fun in their lives. In the following, I will elaborate on my reasons.

First and foremost, having a lot of new friends make us happier because it let us look at life through other perspectives. For more clarification, by hanging out with the friends whom we know them for a long time, individuals would have the same point of view as before. On the other hand, because of meeting new different friends, people can be familiar with others' opinions which may induce them to modify their viewpoints. Take my personal experience as an example. I remember when I was graduated from a bachelor degree and had two friends whom I was with them all the times. The life was monotone for me due to having the same fun and people. After accepting to master degree, I moved to another city, and, as a result, I had to make new friends. Having had new people, I could enjoy many new works which I did not attend before. I, also, recognized my real hobbies and perspectives that intrigue me to live differently with more pleasure. In fact, had I not changed my friendship, I would not have tried different occasions and understood my personality.

Last but not least, people will have more fun with people who have more common interests which cause them to find more friends. To say that, if people join new clubs and groups, they will make new friendships with whom are more similar to them. In this case, they will have more fun with them as the result of their identical hobbies. An example can drive this notion to home, a person who has a friend since her elementary school, who is loyal and knows her very well, has some different hobbies, and, accordingly, make them do these hobbies separately. In the case of having friends who like those hobbies, they will enjoy more and can discuss them. Maybe there is not same as us, but by having various friends, she can participate in different activities which they like. Although old friends should not be abandoned, finding new friends let us engage in more activities in common.

All in all, by taking all the reasons and examples mentioned before into consideration, people should make new friends in order to be happier and enhance their point of view. As a matter of fact, they will look at the world as the others' dimension, and experience many new hobbies that they could not attend them without having their new friendships. To put it another way, who can ignore the influence of others on a person' life?