The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the importance of friendship in the life. In my firm belief, this assertion is not true at all. In my view, it is more important to have an ability to make many new friends easily than the ability to preserve friendships with small number of people over a long period of time for two major reasons, and I will these interesting idea in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I think every person need to have an ability to make a new group of friends. Most of the time in our life we need to find new friends in different situations. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. For instance, when I was 15, I had to go to some school outside my own city. I was really worried because I did not know anyone in that city. I was really sad to say goodbye to my old friends and I did not want to leave them. At the end, I went to that city and I got upset. I did not know what to do. In that time I tried to find some new friends in order to made myself feel good again. I found three friends there and as a result, I got more relax and happy than I was before. I think this example could vividly shows you how much is crucial to have an ability to make new friends in the time if need.

Secondly, I think every friendship is some sort of unique experience and every one should be open to take some risk. For example, one of my friend spent one semester in the abroad university. She said that it was a good chance for her to feel independent from her own family. While she was there, she found one new friend. They became best friend in a really short period of time. Finally, they tried to run a new computer company. They wanted to make some application for computers. They begun this crazy adventure once I heard that my friend said that this friendship was the preface of something wild and important in her life. As a result, they got reach and my friend could reach to the life that she wanted. Example like this could clearly show us the importance of taking risk in life and in friendship.

In the light of above mentioned reasons, I think making new friends is more critical than maintain old friends and I think that need to make a friend in new situation and be open to take risk are two major reasons on this topic.