The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Having faithful friends in life is crucial and almost, each person wants to expand his or her relationships with others for achieving this aim. Although, some people claim that keeping old friends is essential for having a happy life, but I do not think so. In my view, being content in our rutin life has many sides. I feel this way for 3 main reason, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, we have earlier friends because of our past experiences; but we are alive and need to new events and subjects for making our life interesting. For example, I have several school friends in my life that really rely on them in certain times. But as a human, I need to have some new hobbies such as sports, musics, etc. Going to various club provides me new chance to make friend with people by different and some times opposite thoughts. I learn from them a lot by changing ideas with each other, we lough and spend happy times.

The second point is that however, ability for maintaining past friends is enjoy full, but it is not enough. I show my point with a true story about a thing that happened to me. 3 years ago, I got married. Until that time, my friends were single and we could spend much time for amazing and desirable activities; but after that times, as a mother, not only I needed to spend time with my lovely baby and family, but I also believed it is a terrific enjoyment that could not be comparable with other ones. As a result, it is not advisable limiting happiness to friends only.

Last but not least, people have various goals in their life, and concept of happiness is very conditional for them. Consider, for someones having money is desirable, but for others it is education, travelling, thinking, spending time with new friends or even being alone! Furthermore, having communication with old friends and in more general case friends are not determining reason for being happy in life.

In all, what drives somebody to assert that relationships with old friends is not more important factor for having a happy life, falls into 3 main categories including advantages of new friends, having other duties and perspectives in life.