The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Our friends are important parts of our lives. They can help us in various situations and make our lives more enjoyable. Some people argue that it is important to maintain our friendships with a small number of our friends for a long time. However, others, including the author, believe that what is more important is that we can make new friends easily through our lives because of the following reasons.

First of all, people's conditions are always changing. We are not at the same place and state where we were five years ago. Within these changes, we would inevitably lose some of our close friends. At first, people make friends at their elementary school. Then, they would meet new people at their high school, and then they enter college and university. After graduation they would work in a company which is a complete different situation in comparison to their studying facillities. So they should be able to make new friends within these stages of their lives to enjoy their moments. Take my own experience, for example. I am a outgoing person. Within each stage of my life, I have made some new friendships. When I enetered university, I knew no one to even talk with. It was very hard to deal with this new part of my life all by myself. Therefore, I started making new friends. To make a long story short, today I have totally overcome the challenges of this new season of my life. This experience taught me that it is more essential to have the ability of making new friends to stay happy and facilitate affair of our lives.

Second, people's personality are always changing. Events of one's life shape his/her attitudes, and accordingly, there has always been the possibilty that our friends become persons whom we barely know and can connect together easily. Some people encounter bad conditions within which they entirely become another person. A divorce may change one person's life, and after then he/she become a anti-marriage person. In this hypothetical case, one would not be able to maintain friendship with his/her friends who might be married and they are happy with their lives. As is known to all, people can stay friends with whom have somethings in common. Thus, it is important to make new friends easily to simply avoid this adverse situations.

To sum up, Friendship is of great significance in our lives. We should be able to make new friends easily. Sometimes we have to do this because either our conditions are changed or the friends we know might be changed. All people should consider the points mentioned above to have a happy and satisfactory life.