The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily (not mine)

Over the past years, the issue of whether it is more important to be able to maintain friendships with a limited number of people over a long period of time or it is more crucial to have the ability to make many new friends for happiness has received a great deal of attention from psychologists and sociologists. Although some may say that if a person is able to make a lot of friends, he or she will not be alone any time; so that person is happy. I, as well as many others, believe that a person could be happy by having good friends, not many friends, therefore, the ability for maintaining a friendship is more important.

First of all, an important reason why being able to keep old friends over a long period of time is more crucial is that old friends know each other better. Many psychologists mention that people are happy with friends, who know how should behave in different conditions. For example, good friends due to their awareness of each other's habits, know that in what way they must react with their friend when they are sad or angry. Thus, as the old friend have more time to know each other better, they are more important for people's happiness than new friends.

A further reason why the ability to maintain friendship with a small number of old friends is more important than finding new friends is that old friend have much more things in common to share with each other. All of us spend most of the time that we are with our friends for reviewing the old memories whit each other, and really enjoy this feeling. On the other hand, new friends do not have such as these memories with each other, so they could not experience this happiness feeling when they are together.

Finally, it is occasionally said that it is more important to maintain old friendships because finding and making good friends is very hard. It is commonly said by sociologists that building a good relationship with others is a time-consuming procedure, and it is also very hard to find friends that we could have happy relation with them. Consequently, it is better to maintain our relationship with a few number of good friends than trying to find new ones which may not be as good as the old friends.

To sum up, considering the ideas presented in the paragraphs above, I personally believe that the ability to maintain friendships with small number or people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily, chiefly due to the hard procedure of finding good friends and the importance of old friends in our happiness.