After completing high school students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university

Education is the gift parents can give to their children. Without a shadow of doubt high school and university are the most pivotal parts which decides our future careers. I firmly believe that having a off period between these two stages is beneficial to successful completion of university degree. In what follows I will elaborate and explain on what rationale my perspective is based on.

First of all, during the high school period we put our complete effort to get highest scores at exams and to contribute to extra curricular activities to build our profile so that we can apply for a good university. In my experience this is one of the most stressful period of life. During this time, I rarely attend to family functions and I had a distance relationship with my relatives. However, I utilize the time period between end of high school and university to rebuild and strengthen my relationship between relatives and neighbors. We organized several trips to visit natural wonders that relaxed my mind. And my relative gave me important advices to achieve my goals at the university.

Secondly, I believe obtaining work experience before university is vital in several aspects. One thing is the money you earn can used to buy a laptop or books required by the university. Additionally, this give you a financial independence which can be a huge relief to your parents. The work experience you gain during this period can aid you to see thing in practical perspective and this is really helpful to understand some lessons at university. Moreover, this work experience become handy especially when you apply for industrial internships during your undergraduate studies.

However, some people have different view on this. Taking a leave might cause to loss the momentum and the motivation your had for learning. In contrast, if a student can wisely use this time period he will not loss the motivation. For instance, after high school I worked as an library assistant at our public library and I used the free time I had to read on history books to prepare my self for the university education. Furthermore, some of the visitors were university students and their advices helped me to choose most suitable subjects at the university.

I firmly believe that, benefits of taking an off period between high schools overweighs it disadvantageous. This give time to relax the mind after stressful and busy high school. Also you can use this time to revive your weakened relationships. The work experience you gain during this period can become useful in long-term.