Agree/Disagree

People should not spend too much money on personal enjoyment.

Money is indispensable part of our life, and possessing them /it/ makes it possible for us to acquire goods and services necessary for our daily lives. The question remains how money must be spent. Personally, I believe that we have to spend money we earn on things that are vital for us rather than spending them on personal enjoyment. I hold this opinion for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, all of us have /has/ families and people for whom we are responsible. This responsibility among other things requires from us material support. Consequently, if we are thinking only about our personal enjoyment we will not be able to help people we need our assistance. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My family members, namely my children need my financial support to grow up, to get education and so on. This requires from me to be financially disciplined in order to be able to help them. Thus, our responsibilities make us less attentive to our personal enjoyments, and more attentive to other things we should do.

Secondly, spending too much on personal enjoyment will leave us unable to save money. Life is unpredictable; we may encounter situations in which we will need to spend more than we are used to. So, if we spend all we earn and don't make savings we will have difficulties some day. For instance, my uncle was a successful businessman who was earning a lot of money and spending them without regard to the long-term interests. In the financial crisis of 2008 he went bankrupt, and because he had no savings that period was very hard for him. That is why we all have to try to save money for hard days.

To sum up briefly, we all have to spend money we earn wisely. Its explanation is twofold: first, above all, we have to take care of people who depend on us; secondly, we should save money in order to be prepared for unexpected situations that may occur in our lives.