It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Although it is generally agreed that universities are intended to provide wide range of knowledge to students, the question remains whether the emphasis should be placed upon concepts and theories or real facts. Personally, I am prone to believe that theoretical knowledge is more vital. I hold this opinion for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, due to their /its/ nature facts are commonly regarded as less valuable things to know as compared to theories. This is because facts are always connected with real situations that may change. In contrast, ideas and concepts are long-lasting since they are diverted from real situations. For instance, a fact according to which students prefer to live in dormitories nowadays may change over time, while ideas and concepts about students' behavioral patterns may stay unchanged.

Additionally, facts are less informative than concepts. Facts are always concrete whereas theories contain information that is common to many factual situations. For example, a fact that students drink alcohol does not explain the causes of such a behavior. Meanwhile, relevant concepts and generalizations may explain the reasons of such a behavior.

Finally, theories are the result of analysis. As compared to facts, they are the results of the intellectual activity of scholars. Consequently, they take into account all the variety of possible facts and bring to right conclusions. For instance, an analysis may consider the similar facts as well as the deviating facts. This in turn guarantees the accuracy of the information contained therein.

To sum up briefly, facts and theories are interrelated. However, students should pay more attention to comprehend ideas and theories. Its explanation is threefold: theories commonly are unchangeable, their explanatory potential is higher, and they lead to more accurate conclusions.