It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parent's jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parent's job.

It is generally believed that parents have some influence on their children in terms of choosing profession. However, the question remains whether children have to follow their parents rout in that regard, or not. Personally, I am prone to believe that descendants should continue their family traditions and choose work that is similar to their parents' ones. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it would ease the career path of children. As we know, every profession has its difficulties which might be overcome with the help of adult family members. This is explained by the fact that parents have huge experience to share with their kids, and kids do not have to learn on their own errors and failures. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was choosing my profession of a lawyer, I was sure that my father's legal career would assist me a lot. In fact, I was not mistaken. My fathers' advices allowed me to become a successful legal practitioner, whose company employs almost one hundred other lawyers.

Additionally, it would save money. This is due to the necessity to improve one's skills and deepen knowledge constantly irrespective of what profession one chooses. Nowadays, it is not sufficient to graduate from university in order to become a successful professional. One needs to take relevant courses which should be paid, or participate on conferences held in other cities, etc. On the other hand, having a family member who has the same profession as one has implies that one can permanently refer to his or her parents and to learn from them. For instance, my cousin, who is a dentist, never pays for improving his qualification. Instead, he always tries to learn any relevant new information from his mother - a well-known dentist and surgeon. Thus, he can deepen his knowledge without taking any courses and so forth.

To sum up briefly, choosing a profession is not an easy thing. However, often the key to success is choosing your parents' job. Its explanation is twofold: first, it is easier to overcome difficulties with the advice of experienced parents, and, second, that kind of choice allows you to save money.