Agree or Disagree? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Nowadays, due to the growth and popularization of social media, celebrities' opinions shared on social media can approach to numerous audience. It is highly debated whether the opinions of celebrities are more important to young people than to older people. While some people do not agree on it, the others hold the opposite opinion. For me, I firmly believe that young people are easier to be influenced by the opinions of celebrities.

To begin with, young people are relatively naive and thus have more tendency to believe the opinions made by celebrities. Though young people may know about the concept of critical thinking, they are lack of life experiences and knowledges to really use critical thinking. For example, when I was a teenager, I once watched a video made by celebrities that promoted a kind of medicine with the power to make adult grow taller. I did not have enough knowledge on the height growing process so I completely believe it without questioning the composition of the medicine. However, when I told my mom about the medicine, she sensed the unreasonable effect and took a closer look on the medicine. And she was right, the medicine ended up as a fake advertisement. Therefore, naivety make celebrities’ opinions more important to young people since young people will take their words without examination.

In addition, young people usually pick celebrities as their role models and will follow their opinions. This is quite common to be seen to use in advertisements. For example, when targeting at young people, the company usually finds the most popular idols among young generation to serve as product endorser. Since young people regard the idol as their role model, they want to replicate what the role model does. Therefore, when they see the idol drinking the new beverage, they will immediately get one just to make themselves feel like they are similar to their idol. The behavior of regarding celebrities as role models makes the opinion of celebrities important to young people.

To sum up, celebrities’ opinions have more influence on young people that on older people because young people are so naive that they will take celebrities’ words without questioning them. Furthermore, young people tend to set celebrities as their role models and hence make celebrities’ opinion more important. Accordingly, the opinions of celebrities are surely more important to young people.