agree or disagree? Television advertising directed toward young children should not be allowed

Advertising is a vital way to sell goods and services these days. Advertisements target anyone who is able to purchase objects that companies sell. Companies produce advertisements for children rapidly while many believe their action is wrong and can cause many damages to children. As far as I am concerned, authorities should make laws which stop firms from publishing advertisements for children.

First of all, children do not have a proper rational thinking ability which lets them make a difference between reality and advertisement; therefore, they might have the foreseeing of need for those commercial goods even though those goods can have serious repercussions for their health. For example, potato chips are harmful to children due to the fact that it can cause obesity and diabetes in youngsters and toddlers, whereas commercial advertisements make the illusion that demonstrates potato chips are full of vitamins.

Moreover, these advertisements should reach children somehow, so the producers try to show those on television. Watching television is not suitable for young adults because of the damage that it causes to their eyes. Nevertheless, companies try to make children watch television in order to watch their advertisements.

Finally, advertisements overshadow the fact that parents should have the authority to choose what is right or wrong for their children. Advertisements not only is not enlightenment for parents but also it has a destructive effect on their verdicts. So, in order to prevent parents from this misunderstood caused by advertisements, governments should stop companies advertising activities.

In conclusion, television advertisements are neither useful nor honest; consequently, they should be stopped by the authorities. Parents should understand the fact that advertisements are made by companies to make them eager buying their products. For the last words, if I had a child, I would not allow them to watch advertising programs even just for a second.