agree or not? Governments should spend more money on internet access rather than improving public transportation

The main duty of all governments is to increase the welfare of the people, and this can be done by doing different tasks like increasing the quality of public transportation which can result in other benefits for the society. Although some people may states that in today societies the need for internet is as important as having good public transportation vehicles, others mentions that because better public transportation can result in having cleaner environment, it is better for government to spend more money on it. I agree with the second group people and will elaborate on my opinion with the following reasons.

First and foremost, the need for improvement of public transportation is more necessary than having internet access, and more people can benefit from it. Millions of people use public transportation daily in each society, and the big scale of use and high demand on it clearly illustrate the need of investing on them. On the other hand, having access to internet is not a necessity for people, and poor internet access does not create fundamental problems. governments by investing on buses or subways, can help people to spend less time in traffic, and this is while spending money on internet access does not lead to any improvement of life's needs. For instance, I can mention my own country, Iran. Although almost all the people use smart phones and asks for high speed internet, but the government prefer to spent its money on public transportation which has decreased the time people lose in traffics. Big investment on public transportation projects has led to a well-developed network which helps people to go any site of the city in the shortest amount of time and cost. In my view, this decision of government in my country is wisely, and I believe other governments should not spent money on internet access unless they are sure about the quality of their public transportation network.

Second, high quality public transportation lead to better welfare for the whole society, and it makes improvement on it essential. All can easily understand the rule of using public transportation on different kinds of pollution and it makes it clear why all government need spend on money increasing their quality rather than working on other fields like internet access. By providing good and clean public transportation vehicles, government can decrease pollution which lead to lots of diseases. This lead to spending less money on medical cost in long run, and improve the welfare of the people. To illustrate this point, I can mention Iraq. , last year, the government of Iraq announced that they are going to invest on providing high speed internet, and as a result of their limit in budget, they cut some part part of their investment on public transportation. In some months, the air pollution in this country increase and even caused some problem for its adjacent countries. Consequently, they decided to change their plan and put their money on public transportation rather than internet access.

To sum up, people have different needs and having strong access to internet or having good public transportation are two of them. By considering limited budgets each government have, the need of taking wise actions on the way they spend it seems crystal clear. Investing on public transportation helps more people to benefit from it. Moreover, it can have lots of positive consequences like increase in the life quality. Based on these justifications, my conviction is that governments should put more money on public transportation compared to internet.