Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friendship is one of the most precious experiences in the life. If a person wants to have a happy life, he should make sure to find good friends who can help him to be happy and obtain the goals he has. In my view, people should find many new friends, and I would like to elaborate on my opinion with the following reasons.

First and foremost, the life situations change, and as the result, people need new friends to be happy in different stages of their life. All people experiences different stages in their life, and these stages may change the way of their thinking. As people enter to a new situation of their life which may be due to graduation of school, starting a new job or getting married, they will need new friends who are in the similar conditions, and can be good friends who understand them fully, and this will consequently lead to having a happy life. As an example, when my brother was ten years old, he used to have some close friends, and never liked to make new ones. As he graduated of the university, he realized that his opinion toward life or political issues is not the same as his friend, and they usually ended up having an argument at the end of each of their talks. He finally decided to make new friends who have more in common with him, and this was due some changes which happened in his life. It really helped him to be happier, and that is why I believe it is important to always find new friends.

Second, new and different friends can help people to achieve different goals which lead them to have more happiness in their life. One of the most important advantages of having many friends is that people can ask them for help, and as much as people find more new friends, they can receive more helps. If we always stay by some old friends, we will have a great and strong friendship, but by finding new friends we can meet different people who may become better friends for us, and they may have this ability to help us in a better way. My own experience is a compelling example of this point. I always liked to make new friends, but my old friends did not like it, and they were thinking I am not loyal to them. One time when I found a new friend, introduced her to my old friends, and she could help two of us to start our dream job, and all of us were thankful of her. This happening could change my friend’s opinion toward finding new friends, and after that they all agreed that we should always try to find new friends.

The bottom line is that although old friends are really valuable, and can remember us so many good memories of the past, but new friends can open the doors of new chances to us. As we find more and more new friends, we find bigger chances to experience new positive challenges in our life, and it finally leads to a happy life, and that is why my conviction is that for having a happy life finding new friends is more important compared to staying by some old friends.