Agree/Disagree: People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who just focus on only one skill.

There have been debates over whether it is better to develop many different skills or just focus on only one particular skill. In my opinion, a person who is versatile, is more likely to be productive and successful. My reasons and examples listed below will strengthen my point of view.

First of all, we are living in a world full of challenge. In order to be successful we have to be able to face different kinds of problems. Most of them are unexpected ones that cannot be predicted. Therefore, a person who has developed a variety of skills is more likely to be successful in dealing with them. For instance, when a computer is out of order, a computer specialist is able to fix it, but what if there is something wrong with the plumbing or wires in the house? He needs extra help to fix them. However, if he is versatile, he can easily face the problem. No one can deny the fact that people are dependent on one another in order to live and that is the result of civilization. People live in towns and cities and help one another to solve their problems. But being too dependent is not always pleasant. Suppose that there is a problem with the electrical of your house on Christmas holiday. If you have a little bit of knowledge about electrical, you will be able to solve the problem easily and you do not need to wait hours and hours for an electrician to show up.

Secondly, when a person is adept, he can do different things in his free time. He literally never gets bored because there are always plenty of choices for him. For instance, I have a friend who is an artist and is specialized in art. However, art is not the only thing that he is good at. He has so many other skills; from changing all the wires in the house to cleaning and painting the rooms. He never gets bored since he has always something on his mind to manage his vacant time productively. Developing many different skills is also good for our careers. For example, when a multitalented person loses his job, he can easily find another one in a different field. Therefore, he does not need to be worried about unemployment.

To sum up, focusing on only one particular field cannot help us to succeed in a world where things are not predictable. Developing different skills can help us to be less dependent on others as well as it is a good way to fill our leisure time