Are parents best teachers?

Are parents best teachers? Certainly, everybody has a different response for this question from his/her own characteristic such as emotional experience and also educational background. However, when it comes to me, I believe that parents are the most committed, the most patient teachers that any child can have. Parents are the people who are closest to their children and they can influence on their children, from the way of thinking to every scarce habits. The reasons are presented as follows.

In the initial years of people’s lives, the first of their teachers are their parents. First, parents teach them how to walk, how to speak and what are good manners and bad manners before their children enter the society. Surely, they have great patience while passing down their knowledge to their children. Without a doubt, parents are the first role models for their children because children unconsciously copy some of their parents’ lifestyles and habits. Second, parents have a kind of instinct to sacrifice a part of themselves for the betterment of their children and they try to meet all demands for their children.

During the second stage of child development, adolescence, parents have important roles to offer advice in the best position even though the children may reject it. It is obvious that by progressing of technology, parents become conservative in modern life, but they can still point out a direction to their children’s future professional goals. Consequently, teenagers can draw on their parents’ personal experiment. In this case, teenagers learn how to deal with different people in the society, how to make an important decision, how to solve their problems. In short, they learn to have responsibilities in their future lives. For instance, even now that I am a grown up person, my mother always gives me lessons about being strong in facing a problem and I always follows her advices.

From the professional education angle, that a child must train with a systematic education is not matter of dispute. In terms of school teaching, I do not think simply parents can be best teachers in this way, aside from those parents who are school teachers that they teach mass, physics, biology, chemistry, but even so parents still have effective roles in teaching the children to be aware of improving their knowledge at school. Moreover, parents can contact their children’s teachers in order to have any information regarding their children’s educational conditions at school. Correspondingly, parents know how to make a useful atmosphere to encourage their children to reach their success. By way of illustration, when I studied at high school, my parents followed the school news and tried to provide a calm situation for me to study my lessons.

Taking into account of all these factors, we may reach the conclusion that parents are not only children’s teachers but also children’s best teacher. Nowadays, although children need a great diversity of teachers, parents can provide them the greatest emotional support without a substitute and they give children lessons about being independent, strong in their lives.