Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

With rocketing development of modern society, advances in technology have made it possible for people to have a more convenient and colorful life than the past. People can have easy access to all the informations, commodities, and resources as they want. Thus some individuals suppose that people are happier than before, while others hold the oppsite idea. From my perspective, I am in favor of the latter one.

Admittedly, living in modern society means people can enjoy more convenience brought by technology. They can overview the Internet, listening to music, wathing videos, or learning skills. They can also commute to work much faster than before via the subway system. And they possess all the fruitful food that may not be obtained decades ago. Thus, some people seem to live under the illusion that they equate convenience with happiness. However, they fail to take into account the fact that along with the convenience, more stress appears in our lives, which exerts passive effects on our emotions.

For one thing, increasing work stress have, to some extent, disturbed our normal lives with our families. Nowadays, it is common to see that mothers take their children to go to school, to play. The father, who has to support daily expense, endeavor themselves to work harder and harder, and spend tons of time in their works, in order to provide a pleasant life condition to his kid and wife. The fathers are s under great pressure because they cannot afford being fired. Thus, they merely have the access to enjoy the happy time with their families.

Furthermore, people are experience more estrangement recently. People in increasing number have felt that they have few friend that are true friends. The interpersonal relations just collapse over time as the consequence of the development of technology. An illustrating example is that what happend on the way to work. Standing on the subway, it is familier that everyone around just look at their cell phone, can low their heads. At times, some old man or lady need a seat, people besides can just ignore this or they merely can see it.

Based on the discussion above, in spite of the convenience from the development of modern society, the pressure along with it just make people less happier than they should be. And the disadvantages far outweigh its positive sides and will play a significant role on our lives.