Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

The changing proximity of the world is so faster than ever before, therefore it is easy to forget about the upsides of modern society. I admit that there could be some controversies over the topic that whether the present is happier or not to compare with the past. On this topic, I strongly believe that modern society gives us better circumstance which we can enjoy our happiness. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, I should say the advance of the medical system and the medication. Even not long time ago, many people died for the lack of medical knowledge. There were a lot of diseases had threatened humanity in the old day, but cured recently including Black death, Yellow pox, and so on. This dramatic medical evolution has given more chances to survive to human. My personal experience will be valid evidence of it. My grandfather died in a hospital since he had lung cancer. My father, however, has survived from the same illness which brings my grandfather to death, because medical science has been developed the skill of getting rid of cancer cells in my father's body. Without the advance of medication and medical technology, I could have lost my father.

Secondly, we can be more connected to the world than in the past centuries. Transportation technology's progress is astonishing, and it has given more variety of vehicles including car, airplane, cruise, and so on. It makes us possible that travel the world around and make foreign friends, which was impossible in the past. Moreover, we can share our experiences and make friends through the internet. With the advance of both transportation methods and network technology, we can meet the world more closely and easily. For instance, my father and mother only had a chance to travel to other countries when they are sixty years old. When they were young, they needed a lot of fortune to go abroad. Therefore, the traveling world around was only a glorious event for rich people at that time. On the contrary, my generation does not consider travel abroad as demanding experiences because the cost of travel is not cheaper than my parents' age. Additionally, finding and gaining information about the outside of the country is incomparably convenient today.

In conclusion, I suggest that the present world is a lot better than in the past. The medication technology has evolved drastically and we have more knowledge and information about this world.