Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Human nature is such that they are always willing to achieve full happiness. To find such a sense of satisfaction, all human attempts have been made including various inventions and advances in technology. In this regard, although some people hold that the quick changes the new world has been carrying have made people’s lives more miserable than ever before, I think that our parents and grandparents had less satisfying lives compared to us. My viewpoint is based on a few reasons, two compelling ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first focal point to bear in mind is that today’s world is being a more comfortable place thanks to the genesis of many technologies that have made human lives happier and more satisfying. For example, as transportation has become ubiquitous all over the world, people can travel wherever they are willing to go. In the past, people were confined to the area where they lived or worked and had to rely on their own foot or back of horses to go long distances. Under such a circumstance, people had suffered a lot in the past due to the lack of technology, and transportation can be one of the most important cases. However, people today have access to a variety of technologies such as the Internet, lots of transportation means, heating or cooling systems, etc., which have made our lives easier. As a result, the more comfortable our lives are, the more satisfied and happier the world will be.

Furthermore, with the changes implemented on workplace standards, people today enjoy a lot of leisure time compared to people had in the past, which makes our lives more fulfilling and enables us to pursue our passions. I take longer vacations and have more paid holidays from my job than either of my parents did. Accordingly, I have a much shorter working day than they did. For instance, I receive five weeks off from my job each year. I can choose when to take those weeks, and I can even use them all at the same time. This has enabled me to pursue my love of travel. Unlike my parents and grandparents, I have been able to maintain steady professional employment and have also been able to see the entire world over the past years. My parents, in contrast, were only able to travel following their retirement. At that time, because of their age and financial status, they were not able to have the same experiences as I do now.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons and examples, I do believe that given the quick changes the world is experiencing, people now have happier and more satisfying lives than people had in the past. Not only has technology contributed to such a situation, but today’s working conditions also have made human lives more comfortable.