In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

As today world has been turning to an extremely complex environment, information resources play a paramount role in various aspects of human lifestyle, one of which is news outlets. There has been a controversial debate over the notion of whether people should rely on one or several varied news resources in order to be well-informed. I, personally, believe that it is better for people to get information from various sources than just one news source. My viewpoint is based on a few reasons, two compelling ones of which have been elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, feeding merely on one information source can prevent people to become an open-minded person, which means it prompts people inevitably follow a line of thought regardless of whether it is true or false. Indeed, accessing merely to one information sources can be a barrier in becoming active in cultural, political, science and social matters. It is hard to deny that there are some news outlets that undoubtedly depend on a political group and get financial support from one special bond. Under such a circumstance, they blindly publish information in favour of their sponsors and ignore to criticize and publish their political misbehaviour. When people have access to several news publicans, it can play a significant role in exposing corruption and in keeping politicians honest. For example, some online publicans recently published a piece of news revealing that the mayor of my hometown had taken bribes from a speculator four years ago. Although people eventually became aware of it thanks to these news sources, they did not know about it for a long time due to our national channel ignored to expose it. Had access to information limited only to the national channel, neither would people have been well-informed nor would the mayor has resigned. This example demonstrates how people can be well informed with information achieved by various news resources.

Secondly, another equally important reason which should be mentioned is that some information sources are not reliable and publish unqualified news. When a person gets information only from one news outlet, it may fall into mistake ways of learning and prevent in achieving a greater depth of information. My own experience demonstrates the danger of relying too heavily on one news source. Two years ago, I was assigned a research paper in a freshman history class. I cited data and information that I found on an online news resource which turned out to be completely incorrect. The information that I included in my paper was so hopelessly wrong that my professor spotted it immediately, causing me to fail the assignment and receive a fairly low grade in the class at end of the semester. Had I read other several news sites that have published information required me, I would not have included it and not have received such a bad score in the class.

In a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe that people, in order to be well-informed, should get information from several varied news resources rather than merely one news source. Not only does it help people to become open-minded and politically active, but it also can decrease the possibility of accessing incorrect and wrong information.