The best use of that time is to play games and sports with children or do somehting related to schoolwork together

Making good use of that precious limited time which leads to a good quality of companion could be significant to kids and parent-child relationship. Even though some would think it is better to utilize that time to play games or sports together, I prefer doing some study-related activities and make it an interesting journey and experience.

Schoolwork-related activities could help children cultivate good studying habits. I believe that home is also an important place to develop their intelligence and parents should guide them. Take my teacher for example, she had a 10 years old boy whose academic in school is always on the top of the class. He started to reading and discussing together with his mother after dinner and every weekend for a fixed amount of time since he was little. In the process the boy gets into the habit of reading and studying. When children have good habits, it would much easier for them to have better performance, more confidence, and less difficulties in school

Studying activities could arouse children's enthusiasm toward knowledge. We may only need 30 minutes exercise a day to build up strong healthy body and have fun meantime, but the enthusiasm of studying and accumulating knowledge systems would be time-consuming and a long term project. For example, I have a cousin who likes sports and games so much and put a lot of time in these entertainments and avoid doing homework or deal with those problems he had on any subject. It is a very tough situation for parents to deal with during his rebellious teenager period. That's also partly because parents didn't really guide and pay enough attention on their schooling when he was younger.

Even though, recreation is important to relax and develop some hobbies and exposed children more to different things. But more importantly, parents should take even more serious responsibility to develop their minds and develop this crucial hobby of loving studying and knowledge.

In conclusion, no matter how much limited time we have with children, cultivating children's good studying habits and passion for knowledge should be taken serious consideration. I truly believe children would profoundly benefit from it.