broad knowledge

Together with the improvements in society, it seems evident that people are required to have outstanding qualifications to succeed. Thus, there is a long-standing issue on whether it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. While it is undeniable that both options have their own merits to boast, if forced to choose one over another, my stance is in line with the claim that having a broad knowledge of many academic subjects is preferable. My rationale is founded upon the following scheme; first, people could have more job choices available to them, and second, they could improve their efficiency and productivity overall.

First of all, it is beneficial for people to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects they would be provided with many more opportunities to secure a job. These days it is extremely hard to obtain a job, with Time Magazine recently stating that the world's unemployment rate has reached its highest, five percent, since January 1997. With this situation, it is crucial for job seekers to increase their competitiveness in the labor force, and one of the easiest way to gain a competitive edge over others is to be able to work in different fields and possess various skills. It is only natural that job seekers who can work in two fields as opposed to just one will have twice as more job opportunities available to them, increasing their chances of getting employed. As a case in point, when my friend Jenny got into university, she chose to double major in Korean literature and mechanical engineering. By the time she graduated, she was able to apply to companies both as a journalist and as a scientist. While Jenny was not accepted to the former position, she was able to secure a full-time job as a researcher working for a multinational electronics corporation. With this example, it becomes clear that people should learn various subjects so as to increase their chances of securing a job.

The second fact that supports my standpoint is that students should have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects because they would be able to improve their efficiency and productivity overall. Often people who lack knowledge in a variety of fields are unable to think from different perspectives and can utilize only certain problem-solving methods. On the other hand, people with knowledge in diverse areas can approach problems with a more insightful outlook by combining various approaches and thus bringing about creative and efficient results. For instance, my sister majored in psychology and business marketing. When she worked at the local company, she and the other co-workers were directed to design advertisements for the company's new product. While the other co-workers who majored only business marketing just concentrated on delivering as much information about the new product, my sister contemplated how to grab the attention of customers as effectively as possible and convince them to buy the product. Consequently, with her knowledge in psychology, she was able to devise the best advertisement which led the company to a big success. This example demonstrates that having broad knowledge can increase a person's productivity and efficiency.

All in all, each and every fact demonstrates my resolute standpoint that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject because they could have more job choices and improve their efficiency overall. Therefore, nothing in my mind casts doubt on my stance regarding the given statement.