A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Big cities are often the location for large factories. It’s logical to build them there because a high population density allows companies to find more workers. Urban areas are also close to transportation and shipping routes, so it’s easy to understand why many factories want to operate there. However, if I could choose to stop a new factory from opening in my neighborhood, I would absolutely oppose it.

The first reason that another factory should not be built in Istanbul is because it is dangerous. There has been a lot of fast, unregulated development in the last decade. As a result, many apartments are very close to each other. Often, there physically is no space for anything new. A recent newspaper article said that if there was an earthquake in Istanbul, emergency services could not organize to help people. This is because there is no open space where people can meet. Although many companies might argue that jobs justify opening a factory, those jobs should not endanger citizens who live near there. It’s very important for companies to carefully choose the locations of factories so that people are always safe.

The other obvious concern is a factory’s impact on quality of life. Factories are generally not quiet places. They create waste, dust, and gases that can cause illnesses for local residents. Also, the heavy machinery can generate a lot of noise pollution. Unfortunately here in Istanbul, there aren’t many parks. Children get tired of being at home and they need somewhere to go and play. Naturally, they go to the streets. Children deserve clean, safe places to play, but if they are forced to play next to a factory, then they don’t have a nice or relaxing environment. It’s true that there is now more and more technology that allows kids to play inside (with tablets or laptops), but they need an outdoor space so they can connect with nature. In fact, adults also need this kind of connection and space to relax. When people spend more time in green areas, they are happier and less stressful.

Despite the fact that many companies say it’s practical and easier to build factories in cities, for the main reasons of improving safety and the environment where people live, more factories should not be built in Istanbul. (wo