Describe a food that is important to your country’s sense of identity. Explain how this food contributes to your country’s “food culture.”

Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Foods lie at the heart of every culture. Without foods, no one can survive, both physically and spiritually. As a Chinese, rice is the food that has the most profound impact on our culture and sense of identity, as I shall discuss below.

Before the Industrial Revolution, rice is a type of crops that require high density of labor. Thus, it is not surprising that rice has become the symbol of hard work in the Chinese culture. China is a country with a large population and these people are not evenly distributed. Therefore, intensive farming serves as a solution to populated areas, and rice is the perfect staple in these regions. No matter the weather, farmers need to take care of the crops every day. They work with blood and sweat, and the rice is the proof of their hard work.

On the surface, rice does not seem special. Hence, rice is also a symbol of modesty. When cooked, it becomes white and round, and it will yield a pleasant smell. However, compared with other foods such as meat and fish, rice is not as eye-catching due to its lack of splendid colors, shapes, or flavors. Nevertheless, Chinese people tend to have rice in their every meal since rice has the function of mediating all the different flavors. Rice plays an indispensable role in our meal, but we may not notice it when we are enjoying the meal. Consequently, we often relate rice to modesty, a virtue that is most admired in the Chinese culture.

Rice also has another defining characteristic, which is the symbol of unity. Nowadays, with the advent of technology, rice has increasingly lost its hard-working characteristic due to the demise of labor-intense production. Also, with the emergence of foreign cuisines, the indispensable role of rice has greatly diminished. However, rice’s symbol as unity has become more crucial than ever. Although a lot of young people may leave their hometown in pursuit of work in big cities, the Chinese New Year is the time when all of the family members must come together and enjoy the meal. The meal at the Chinese New Year are called “unity rice.” This is a traditional Chinese meal with lots of delicious dishes and also lots of rice. This meal will take a long time for family members to chat with each other and relish in the rare moment of unity.

Although the world has changed a lot during the decades, as a Chinese, I truly believe that the spirit of rice will always live in my heart and soul. Rice is China’s sense of identity.