Describe a food that is important to your country's sense of identity. Explain how this food contributes to your country's "food culture."

Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Rice is China's sense of identity.

Foods lie at the heart of every culture. Without food, no one can survive, both physically and spiritually. As a Chinese, undoubtedly, rice is the food that has the most profound impact on our culture and sense of identity, as I shall discuss below.

Before the Industrial Revolution, rice is a type of crop that requires a high density of labor. Thus, it is not surprising that rice is an integral part of Chinese culture and has become the symbol of diligence. China is a country with a large population, and these people are not evenly distributed. Therefore, intensive farming serves as a solution to populated areas, and rice is the ideal staple in these regions. No matter how harsh the weather is, farmers need to take care of the crops every day. They work with blood and sweat, and the rice is the undeniable proof of their hard work and toil.

On the surface, rice does not seem remarkable, so it is also a symbol of modesty. When cooked, it becomes white and round, and it will yield a pleasant smell. However, compared with other foods such as meat and fish, rice is not as eye-catching due to its lack of splendid colors, shapes, or flavors. Nevertheless, Chinese people tend to have rice in every meal since it can mediate the different flavors. Rice plays an indispensable role for the Han people of China, but we may not notice it when enjoying the meal. Consequently, we often relate rice to modesty, a virtue most admired in Chinese culture.

Rice also has another defining characteristic, which is the symbol of unity. Nowadays, with the advent of technology, rice has increasingly lost its hard-working feature due to the demise of labor-intense production. Also, with the emergence of foreign cuisines, the indispensable role of rice has significantly diminished. However, its symbol of unity has become more crucial than ever. These days, plenty of young people leave their hometowns in pursuit of work in big cities. Chinese New Year is the time when all of the family members must come together and enjoy a meal called "reunion dinner," which is a traditional Chinese meal with lots of delicious dishes and lots of rice. This meal will take a long time for family members to chat with each other and relish in the rare moment of reunion.

Although the world has changed a lot during the past decades, as a Chinese, I truly believe that the spirit of rice will always live in my heart and soul. Rice is China's sense of identity.