Diet, not exercise, is the most important element in maintaining one’s health. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use details and reasons to support your point of view.

Everyone wants to be healthy. Without a sense of wellness, people will not be able to study effectively. Having poor health will make it difficult for people to do their jobs competently. Poor health will even make it difficult for people to carry out their familial responsibilities. Therefore, how do people maintain the best possible health? Some believe that regular cardiovascular and weight training exercise is an effective way toward optimal health. Others believe that diet is the key to being physically fit. In my opinion, diet is the single most important part of helping people to have good health. Having a healthy diet helps people to stay lean, it lowers the risks of many cancers, and it even stabilizes mental health. Therefore, indeed, I do agree with the above statement.

First of all, people who have a healthy diet are more likely to stay lean. To illustrate, unlike a lot of my friends, I weigh only 152 pounds, and I am 5 ft 10 inches tall. Most of the food I eat comes from a farmer’s market near my house in Southern California. I usually buy fresh wheat bread, green and red bell peppers, green beans, and corn on the cob. In addition, the market also has an assortment of fruits such as bananas, strawberries, pears, apples, oranges, and tangerines. I try to make it a point to to use these fresh organic foods as supplements to my breakfasts, lunches, and dinners that I cook. Therefore, instead of buying foods that comes from packages, I prepare most of my meals from fresh vegetables and fruits. I attribute my leanness due to my diet, and, other than walking a little bit during my daily routine, I do not exercise at all.

Second of all, having a healthy diet lowers the risk of many cancers. Many studies suggest the diets high in red meat and processed foods such as Cheezits, Goldfish Crackers, and Captain Krunch cereals increase risks of colon, breast, and pancreatic cancers. In addition, those who smoke dramatically increase their risk of lung cancer. The unhealthy habit of chewing tobacco can cause mouth cancer. Due to all of these risks, my parents, my family, and most of my relatives have chosen to eat mostly fresh foods with little or no red meat. Furthermore, we all abstain from smoking, tobacco, and even alcohol. Consequently, neither my relatives nor I have been diagnosed with any form of cancer. I have to believe that our healthy food choices are helping us to live cancer-free lives.

Finally, people who may be susceptible to mental illness can stabilize their brain chemistry through healthy food choices. A few years ago, I was diagnosed with clinical depression. I knew something was wrong since I had been experiencing sadness, negative emotions, and even thoughts of suicide. I went to the doctor who diagnosed me as being clinically depressed. She prescribed some medication for me and also suggested a special behavior-changing diet. I eliminated most processed sugars from my diet, for example. Moreover, I continued to stay away from most processed foods and red meats. Especially staying away from the processed sugars seemed to help stabilize my brain. Of course, the medication has helped me cope with depression, but my healthy diet is also helping me to stay mentally healthy.

To sum up, I agree that diet is most important for one’s health. As I stated, healthy diets reduce obesity, minimize cancer risks, and improve mental health.