Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everybody needs good friends to confide in and to share the highs and lows of life with. While having the ability to easily make friends in any situation is a highly valuable skill that helps one avoid loneliness, the quality of these friendships and the degree to which one feels confident in his or her friends is an even more important parameter in determining the value those friendship relations carry. That is why I agree with the sentence that to be happy, the ability to keep friendships for a long period of time, even with a small number of people, is more important than having the ability to make many new friends easily. Such longtime friendships carry deep and real meanings and they also equal to a great number of shared memories. In the following paragraphs, these ideas will be explained more in depth.

It is hard to trust someone after a short time with secrets or real thoughts one has. This is why it takes time to feel comfortable to share such lines of thought with people we know. The keyword here is time; one has to spend time with his or her friends to make it reach this level of comfort. Having a lot of friends divides time spent with friends among them and makes it harder to forge stronger bonds with them all. One gets to forge real, deep connections with few good friends that one has had over a long period of time and this bond only strengthens with the passing of time. Therefore, old friends are on a totally different level than newer ones when it comes to trust and feeling of comfort. Everybody agrees that they find it easier to talk with people they are used to talk for a long time than people they have acquaintanced newly.

Memories are what remains of the time we have spent our lives on and these memories usually get to be more saturated when they are shared with other people. It was explained in the previous paragraph that how old friends have stronger bonds and spend more time together. This means that old friendships are guaranteed to include many more memories than newly-formed friendships. The number of memories, good and bad, is important because humans always feel sentimental and nostalgic when they think of their past life and what better thing to remember when one is thinking of the past than their best friends and their shared acts? For example, I have kept two of my friends that I found in middle school close and we have gone to a number of camping and road trips. There are times that we cannot meet each other for even a few months but in the end, whenever we are together, we are guaranteed to have a good time and make happy memories.

In summary, I believe it is better to maintain friendships with a handful of people over a long period of time rather than going on and making new, short lived friendships. Old friends are always easier to talk to and feel more real in terms of friendship standards and they are also full of sweet memories that can always be cherished on as time goes on.