Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important than the ability to make many new friends easily.

In our sophisticated world, the human relationships are extremely complicated. Some people prefer to make a large number of friends easily. However, I think it is more essential to keep our friendship with a few friends over a long time instead of having too much of them. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

To begin with, the faster we make a friend, the faster we are prone to lose it. The relationships among people that are formed quickly is totally vulnerable. Since it doesn't have a stong basis and it is not usually based on deep familiarity and bond between people. As a result, it is likely to disappear after a while. My own experience is a compelling example demonstrating this fact. When I was an undergraduate specialized in mathematics, I lived in dormitory and shared my room with a history student there. We build our friendship immediately and seemed close friends for four years. Nontheless, we didn't spend much time to know more about each other. After we finished our studies, we left the dormitory and didn't see each other anymore. We didn't have deep affections for each other and get separated easily.

Another equally significant point is that the long term friends are more reliable. We know each other for a long time. Therefore, we are strongly dependent on each other and there is an emotional bond berween us that makes them take care of us in various situations such as unexpected emergencies that happen in life. For instance, last year I went bankrupt after struggling with innumerable financial problems. I losed all my saved money and even had to sell my house. My childhood best friend assisted me with those difficulties and helped me to rent a new house. Had I not had this thoughtful and kind friend since my childhood, I would stay in trouble.

To make a long story short. I firmly believe that a few number of long-lasting friendships are more important than the ablility to make new friends easily. That's because these friendships are not only more sustainable and stable but also more fruitful and helpful.