Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

A Persian proverb states that, "Tell me who are your friends, so I can tell who you are." This proverb emphasizes the importance of friendship in one's life. As far as making friends is concerned, some are of the opinion that making new friends is more important than holding small number of old friends and brings immense emotional satisfaction, while others believe otherwise. I-for one- subscribe to the latter idea on the ground that we being with old friends is much more fun and they are more reliable.

To begin with, we share much more common thought, memories, etc. with our old friends and the special bond we can acquire with them is not something that a person can gain in a recently-made relationship. This sharing of common thoughts and talks culminates in having long talks and laughing which is priceless. Moreover, when close friends gather together they will have much more fun, rather than some new friends that maybe even are shy still. For example, I have some close friends from college period that I really have enjoyable moments with them; we play together, tell some very delightful memories from the college, and go trip, which really make me happy. On the other hand, I have some new friends from work, who are by the way very nice people, but due to lacking so much in common, except our work and some daily issues, we never go trip with each other.

Second, emerging some accidents or difficult situation in the span of everyone's life is inevitable. With this in mind, close friends can be supportive in human most critical events of life. For instance, if someone is in desperate need of money, definitely it would his or her close friend who first comes to their mind to ask for help. Moreover, people need someone to tell them their secrets and talk to them about every detail of their life. In this regard, this is the old friends that can be trusted. For instance, I never talk with my new friends about my personal matters and instead always can tell my close friend and ask him for advice.

All in all, taken into account what was already mentioned, I do believe that small group of old, close friends paly in significant role in everyone's happiness rather than their new friends. Actually, there is a Persian proverb which states that "everything should be new, except for friend, which is best to be old."