Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Connections and friendships are of great importance in everyone's lives. According to some psychologists, friends can play an important role in making people grateful in their lives.In my opinion, although it is very good to be able to form friendships with people who we meet and want to be connected with, it is more necessary for humankind to have a few real friends for a long time. I believe this way for some reasons that I will elaborate on in the following essay.

First of all, making new friends is always risky and with some degree of uncertainty. In other words, I can never be sure whether the new guy who is going to be closer to me is a really good man or not. These kinds of things need time. We can only learn about a few aspects of a person we recently met, but it is preferable to get to know that person in depth.By details, I mean the special behaviors they may show in some abnormal situations, like stressful and hard moments. For example, last year, the company where I work employed a new girl. At first, she seemed like a truly good girl. But after a few days, when our company was struggling with a difficult project, she manifested her true self. She was a really annoying coworker who was not only unable to continue her ordinary tasks, but was also disturbing me while I was doing my work. I realized she was utterly awful and I could never count on her as my friend. Thus, I decided to just see her as a coworker and nothing more.

Secondly, finding new friends and forming new friendships are kind of boring tasks that take a lot of time and energy, and they also need money. To be more specific, whenever I want to make a connection with a new person, I must spend considerable time and energy preparing for the meetings. By preparing, I want to say that I cannot be in my normal clothes and style. Conversely, if one of my old friends wants to come to my house, I will not even change my clothes. I'm free to be completely myself.

Furthermore, I think that only old friends are the ones who I can actually rely on in my challenging times. It is undeniable that even if someone has become a friend and is very kind to me, I can never trust him. I don't know anything about the secret parts of his character.

Taking the reasons and examples mentioned above, I strongly believe that to be more happy and grateful, I should have some good guys as my true old friends. This is mostly due to the fact that making new friends is risky and takes time and energy. Furthermore, only old friends are the people who I can trust.