Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As a student, taking frequent breaks helps to improve concentration while back to study. However, some people believe that taking a vacation can distract students, so a year off after high school is not required. On the other hand, some people believe in taking some time off before, so they would charge up their mind. In my opinion, I totally agree that students should not take a year off after high school. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore further in my essay.

To begin with, in-between breaks in study makes students lazy, when they are back to work because a short vacation can also disturb the rhythm of study. To explain broadly, due to little distraction, students could pay a lot for it by not receiving good results. My personal experience is a perfect example of it. When I was preparing for my TOEFL exam, meanwhile, my husband insisted on taking a vacation and being relaxed, so it could assist with better preparation of the exam. Therefore, we went to Hawaii for 15 days and enjoyed it without thinking about my studies. Thereafter, when I went back to home, and started to give a mock test, I was not able to concentrate as well as felt a burden to study due to breaking continuity of preparation. Eventually, I did not have interest in studying. Thus, I was not able to receive a required score and have had a lot of regret for my vacation. If I had not broken my rhythm of study, I would have been able to ace the exam. Hence, I can definitely say that taking a break is not a good option.

Secondly, contrary to the belief that a vacation enhances the mood of study when you are back, there are some chances to forget important concepts, which you want to revise frequently. To be specific, when you are in a vacation mood, you probably cannot stress enough to remember everything, so you need to give more hours for revision after vacation. For instance, coming back to my previous example, When I was back home, I literally forgot some of my concepts and methods. Moreover, it was hard for me to remember, so I started my study from the beginning and it took me 15 days to revise the concepts. As a result, I can admit that a vacation makes you lazy and conceive more time after a break. If I had started to study instead of vacation, it would have been efficient.

In a nutshell, I strongly agree that taking a break gives you a horrible impact on study not only because you become lazy after vacation, but also you could forget some important concepts.