Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some peole belive that students should start studying at university right after they finished their highschool; however, some others think it is more beneficial for students to take a year off and travel or work instead. I firmly stand for the view that high school students benefit from taking one year off before going to university. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in this essay.

First, students can have joy and release their tension by taking one year off to travel after they finished high school. They have been studying hard for several years and they really need to get some rest after all those years practicing. It helps them recharge their batteries and become fresh to start new chapters of their lives without any stress and fatigue. For example, when I graduated from high school, I start travelling around my country for about one year instead of going to university. I had an amazing time while I was exploring different cities and cultures and I got rid of the stress and anxiety of school. After that, I went to university with more passion and less stress and I really enjoyed my studies. However, my classmates who started university immediately, got bored and unenthusiastic about our courses.

Second, when students start working after the high school instead of going to the university, they have enough time to think more about themselves and their abilities. They also can find their real interests and follow them at university. If they start their studies as soon as they graduated from school, they do not much time to recognize their capabilities and by working in different areas, they can find they are talented and interested in which field of studies. For example, my sister started working at an art gallery when she finished high school in mathematical major. After a while, she understood that how she was fascinated by paintings and decided to go art school instead of engineering school. If she had not worked in an art gallery, she could have never been a famous artist.

In conclusion, some people believe that high school students should start the university as soon as possible; how ever I think one year off before beginning the university is more beneficial for highschool students. Not only do they take rest, but also they can make a better decision for their future studies.