Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

In the progressive world where we are living, understanding the history of the world is beneficial for students. In this vein, some people believe that the history courses should be mandatory for all students in all fields at the university. In contrast, many others hold an opposite view and think that the university isnot a proper place to expand theknowledge of students in history, particularly in all fields except for the majors related to history. I personally concur with the latter group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the university should spend resources on the specialized courses in each field rather than general courses such as history, in order to enhance the ability of students in their own major. In fact, the students should be encourage to spend time and effort increasing their knowledge and their skills to pass the courses which are useful for being successful in their professional future. As a result, the universities should allocate the budget and resources to achieve this goal. If the passing history courses is compulsory for all majors, university should be responsible to provide classes and professors for that, adding up the expenses of universities. Thereforeapart from the history students, other students can refer to many books and journals available in libraries and the Internet to increase their knowledge about the history, if they are interested in.

Moreover, students should focus on the courses in which they are interested, getting a good mark and making more opportunities for them to get a perfect job. In other words, student do not allot time and effort to those courses that they are not interested in, particularly those which are not helpful for their future. They usually cannot be successful to get a good grade in those courses. Therefore, it causes a negative effect on the GPA at the university, as well as on their resume. As a result, it makes much difficulties to get a promising occupation. My experience can easily shed light on this concept. I personally did not favor history courses at the university, not allocating enough time to study it. Consequently, I could not get a good grade, which wasted my efforts spent getting a successful result in other courses, thereby causing a decline in my GPA, which made it difficult to apply for job in prestigious companies.

To conclude, the history course should not be mandatory for all majors for two main reasons described above. Not only does it increase the university's expenses to provide classes and professors for presenting that course, but also negatively affect the GPA of students who are not interested in history courses, weakening their professional resume.