Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Although science and technology will continue to improve, the most significant improvement for the quality of people’s lives have already taken place.

In this modern day and age, thanks to recent advancements in science and technology, nothing seems out of reach and impossible to achieve anymore. A question that might arise here is that whether the life of mankind has approximately reached its climax in terms of quality and convenience or not. Though there is no definite answer to this question, I utterly subscribe to the idea that the best is yet to come. To support my point of view, there are several perspectives, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

First and foremost, although the medical field has been taking giant leaps over the course of the past few decades, there are still lots of questions we don’t have an answer for. It goes without saying that nowadays life expectancy has significantly improved in both the developing and developed countries. However, there are diseases such as certain types of cancer or diabetes that we can’t appropriately and efficiently treat, let alone cure. A recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yields several interesting statistics one of which indicates that over the past twenty-five years, the rate at which people die because of stage four blood cancer has doubled taking the population rise into account. This paints a vivid portrait of how the health care system is incapable in terms of providing patients with proper treatments and cures even in this era that the world is changing at a rapid pace technologically. This insufficiency is not due to lack of management but rather because there is no effective cure yet for certain kinds of diseases. Finding cures four these diseases would be a remarkable breakthrough in medical science.

Furthermore, outer space is still considered a mystery to human beings. What we know about what is going outside of the earth's atmosphere is negligible. We are still searching for life on the moon and mars and we haven’t set a solid knowledge in this regard. It is no secret that our solar system, even the milky way galaxy is nothing in comparison to the space we have discovered its existence as a whole. There is a growing body of opinion that in the near future we can actually make other planets hospitable and utilize them in our favor. Our beautiful planet earth wouldn’t be considered the only planet that can support life and I think this would be so huge in no way comparable to everything else that mankind has ever gone through. Lots of problems would be overcome. Maybe money would not be a problem anymore and all people will finally be able to live together with peace since the resources are so abundant in other planets more than enough.

To wrap it up, contemplating what was discussed above, I am of the strong conviction that we, human beings, have still a long way to go to the peak of life quality. This is because there are still some diseases that we haven’t found any cure or appropriate treatment for them, and because we haven’t explored the space the best as we can. I believe that the story of us wouldn’t be ending soon and an exciting journey has just started.