Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Maintaining a relationship is dependent on so many factors and so most people agree that being genuine is a crucial foundation in any relation. Personally, however, I believe friends can tell white lies to each other as long as they do not mean to hurt their friends. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, even in any close relationship, there are still some matters that take time to get the courage and share it with your friends. Some personal challenges which we all might face in our private lives are not easy to get along with, therefore we may not be able to share them right away. I contend understanding people can forgive their friends after they find out about their friend's lie. My friend's experience is a compelling example of that. I have six close friends whom I have known them for about six years. Two of them started ditching all the gatherings and parties six months ago, and they both made up different pretexts. After about three months they told us that they had been dating for three months and that was the main reason of all ditching. They were not ready to tell us then, but they finally did and we all wished them the best.

Another main motivation for white lies is that sometimes telling the truth can hurt our friend's feeling and decline their spirits. By telling lies we can encourage our friends to keep trying till they achieve what they desire. For instance, back in high school, one of my friends was really poor with physics and she had some basic problems with the concept. After midterm exam, she came to me and asked me if she can get better by trying or not. Although all her mistakes were simple, I told her anyone could make these common mistakes and encouraged her to retain studying. I also gave her my own sources and studying plan. At the end of the semester, she really did great on her final test. Had I told her she has problem in simple concepts, she would have gave up there.

In conclusion, friendship requires mutual understanding, thus friends can tell white lies to each other and instead of getting mad we should try to understand. Plus, some lies can save our friend's spirit and help them to improve.