Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is indisputable that the world is changing so quickly. This would affect people in many aspects of their lives. Two of these aspects are Happiness and satisfaction. They are the main axis and core of one’s life. Personally, I believe that people are less happy and less satisfied than people were in the past. I feel this way for two main reasons that will be further explored in the ensuing paragraph.

To begin with, the world is changing at a pace that acquires us to keep up with, otherwise, we will be far behind the others. In other words, the competition to be the best result in a society that is too busy to stop for a while and enjoy life. From nowadays’ perspective, if you don’t have the required qualifications for a specific job, then you lost your spot for a more qualified person. This person probably spent most of his life working and studying without resting in the middle of it. Therefore, all this pressure to have the ultimate qualifications and requirements for a job generated a society of people that can not spare time for themselves or their beloved ones. They don’t have time to take a walk and enjoy the beautiful weather or the nice scenery. Eventually, they become so devoted to their career development that they forget about healing their mental and psychological health. With all this stress and lack of self-healing time, people are less happy and less satisfied than people were in the past.

In addition, the technological revolution contributed much to this quick change of the world. Accordingly, it verged on people’s happiness and satisfaction. To be particular, inducing new technology every day reflects on people who seek this new technology because they are not satisfied with the old one anymore. My own experience is an illustration of this concept, I got my son an iPhone for his birthday. At first, he was happy with his phone because it had all the features he aimed for. However, when the company released a new model. He wanted this new model that have way more features and specifications than the one he already got. So, he became less happy and less satisfied with his new phone and wished for a more advanced phone.

To sum up, People are less happy and satisfied than people were in the past because they became so materialistic and don’t know how to enjoy life anymore.