Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that happiness is an ambiguous concept and it has many definitions in different cultures. The United Nation’s organization (UN) as a world class reference has a simple criterion for defining happiness; they believe that individuals who can spend more time on the activities which they love the most, are happier than others. Based on mentioned criterion there are two perspectives. Some people are of the opinion that individuals are less happy due to sophisticated life, nowadays. While, others disagree and they think modern life is more satisfying. Both ideas have some adherents who have their own justifications. In what follow, I will explain both ideas and its advocates’ reasons.

Those who are in favor of the first notion state that world is changing rapidly and life becomes more complicated than before, especially after the Industrial revolution. They believe that people has to work harder and they must spend most of their time at work, so as a result they do not have enough time to do the activities which they like the most. Consequently, they do not feel happy. A prominent scientist from mathematics department of Pennsylvania university has published an article about happiness in the Economist journal; he surveyed on five thousand individuals about their jobs, the amount of time that they must spend at work, the activities which they like, their happiness or sadness feelings and so on; he collects each person’s data on a large scale database. After statistical analysis he avers that more than fifty percent of people are not satisfied with their lives due to nowadays’ complex life.

Moving on to the second idea, it has repeatedly seen that the advocates of second notion claim that, it is true that life has become more sophisticated today but we should consider a wide range of possibilities that modern life has provided for us. For instance, today’s life facilitates our access to the most of published books on the web and also people can make connection to their relatives all around the world by video calls and many different other possibilities which can make people happy. Adherents of this notion believe that individuals are happier than the past due to such utilities.

From a personal perspective, I am more inclined to concur with the first notion. I strongly believe that however, modern life has provided many possibilities but it takes our precious time instead. I think if people could make a balance between life and work, they will have more time to spend on their interests and as a result they will be happier.

To recap the main points, there are two beliefs about people’s happiness in today’s life according to aforementioned criterion. Unfortunately, most of the people are not happy due to modern lifestyle but I hope they will adopt themselves to the contemporary lifestyle.