• Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Boys and girls should attend separate schools. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the last years, the position of women become more important in society as new policies trying to contribute to gender equality. school plays a significant role in enhancing these policies. While some people believe that it is better to have different schools for boys and girls, others strongly disagree. In my opinion, the educational system should be the same for everyone if we want to eliminate discrimination towards women and reflect to children a representative example of a society in which men and women are both part of it.

First, in the past, there were separate schools for boys and girls which caused many problems for the female gender. these types of schools tend to teach different content to boys and girls and this results to enhance the gap between the two genders. For example, when people invented the first personal computers, the majority of male schools got some in order to teach the boys how to use them. On the other hand, the majority of female schools considered that this tool is important only for men so it did not give the chance to girls to get familiar with it.

Second, we live in a society where half of the people are men and the other are women, so we should have the same proportion in school in order to present to the children a realistic view of society. Imagine, a boy that goes to a male school. he will learn to interact only with men, so after his graduation, he will not be able to cooperate with women. Moreover, a separate group of people will have different experiences throughout their life, so they will not understand the problems of the other group. For example, in many countries in Africa, there are many separated schools, so when the children become politicians they know only the problems of their gender and they pass laws that are bad for the other gender.

To sum up, the role of the school is to enhance the equality between people and prepare children for society. this can be done only through schools that are not separated for male and female students.