Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Election is a serious task in the society because it’s results impact on the whole nation. So, there has been no shortage of debate about who can vote. However, the question is whether or not over fifteen year older letting vote. Some people believe it is absolutely acceptable to vote over fifteen years for a better society. On the other hand, I personally feel that the society would become worse, if young children where allow to vote for reason I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, fifteen year is a very young age, children at this age lack of emotions needed to take intelligent decisions when choosing a leader because they are immature. In addition to that, people at this age group have a lack of knowledge to distinguish true valuable with most exciting things. The politicians often give emotional speech such as increasing holidays and financial support and other entertainment activities to grab the youngster’s attention. In fact it is not a good approach to select the best leader. So people must need to understand the significance of their vote which is only possible after getting enough maturity.

In addition to that, it would be a mistaken to allow young child to vote because they simply copy their parent’s preference. For example, during the elections, the voters are often influenced by financial factors such as tax benefits and financial support. While the children at this age are not independent on finance, their parents force them to vote as per their preference for economical benefits although which is not good in the democracy.

In conclusion, even though everyone in the society has a right to elect their leaders it is necessary to get enough understanding before they go for voting. Young people don’t have enough prior knowledge about politics and more likely to influence with their parents. So I personally recommend fifteen years is not a good enough age to vote.