Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The concept of family and its importance has changed over the years. Whether the extended family’s value has decreased or not, though, is a matter of intense debate. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that extended family is today as important as it was in the last decades. this position is based on two main reasons that will be analyzed thoroughly below.

members of the extended family, like grandparents, help in the care and education of the kids, in the same way that they did it in the past. The dynamism of the modern life does not allow parents to count with the time that their children demand. Therefore, it is quite common to see grandparents taking that role and helping with their grandchildren’s school homework or taking care of them, while parents are working. this is as usual today, as it was in the past. A compelling example of that my own son john. I have to work until seven at night. seeing the situation, my mother offered to pick up john at school and helping him with his homework until I arrive home. that was wonderful to him owing to he has improved his scores in the school’s test, thanks to the preparation that he has acquired with my mother’ help.

Secondly, the advice of an older family member and his experience, help them avoid making mistakes. The amount of information that the youngsters have on their hands is almost unlimited. However, nothing is comparable with the wisdom and the advice of someone more that has lived longer than you. For instance, I lived an a situation when I was a freshman university student that illustrate this idea. I have an uncle who engineer like me. one day I was struggling with a project for my electronics class, which was one of the most difficult topics for me. when he noticed that, he advised to try to look the problem from another perspective and divided it into smaller parts. To abbreviate a long history, the project that looked like a giant and complex problem, become more manageable when I split it into less difficult pieces. As a result, thanks to my uncle’s experience, I was able to overcome a challenging situation and to learn an inestimable lesson for the future.

In summation, I am of the opinion that it does not matter with time we are analyzing, the extended family always will be an essential factor in the childen’s development. this is because the help that they provide by sharing the responsibility in the care and education of children, and the experience that they could transmit them.