Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Some people think that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past since most families live independently. However, In my opinion, I do not agree and think that the importance of extended family has instead more important than in the past because of the following three reasons.

First of all, the importance of extended family is more now than in the past because nowadays, most parents are busy doing their job. Due to the busyness of the parents, children are literally abandoned in the home. If there is any extended family live in the home, then they can fill the gap between children and their parents by providing care and love. We can see that in our society, many children are engaging illegal activities simply by lacking love and care from their parents. On the other hand, even if parents want to take care of their children, due to their job responsibilities they often cannot present most of the time with their children. In such cases, any extended family members such as grandparents can take care of the child and prevent him or her from engaging in aberrant activities in society. In contrast, in the past, both of the parents used to have more time than now for their children. Hence, now the importance of extended family has increased than in the past.

Secondly, the importance of extended family has grown deliberately at present time than in the past because it creates a close support structure. For example, if an individual gets sick in an extended family, other members of the family support him or her. They can provide sick people better food, they can bring them to the hospital, and many more. One the other hand, today, most of the family members have to depend upon their job for their living. When a person's job terminates, other members of the extended family may take care of the expenses of the family. Which prevents him or her from going into depression due to the loss of a job. However, in past, people used to grow food on their own, and even if they did not have a job, they can live for several months without any employment. While in present, most of the families entirely depend upon the income from their job. So the importance of extended family has grown in order to create a close support structure.

In conclusion, the importance of extended family now is increased than in the past.