Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than they have now.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a shadow of a doubt, the ever-increasing development of technology has affected many aspects of people’s lives. One of these effects is that it has increased the exposure of people to celebrities’ news. Should media realize the significance of showing the celebrities’ news on famous people’s own lives and society, they will ponder over reducing the growth of their news carefully. This issue has recently been the topic of debate among experts. Despite the arguments asserting that it is good to give celebrities no privacy, I believe otherwise for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First and foremost, it is my firm conviction that the lack of privacy causes serious mental diseases for celebrities. To be more specific, it has negative effects on famous people and puts serious pressure on them. Celebrities have bad days and good days like any human being and sometimes they need to have privacy and focus on their personal life without being worried about paparazzi and what people might think about them. However, nowadays, they have no privacy in their life and feel that they are followed everywhere they go. The most important thing in one’s life, which is his or her freedom, has been taken from them. This puts a large amount of pressure on them which in turn leads to mental problems. To put it into a more vivid picture, there was a famous singer in our city that had a lot of followers and fans. He had some problems with his wife and they got divorced in the end. After their divorce, all of the news talked about their lives and the reasons behind their divorce. Hearing this news and seeing paparazzi in front of his door all the time, made him depressed, and caused a high level of anxiety and stress. In the end, he could not tolerate it and committed suicide. Therefore, I believe the lack of privacy has created a lot of mental problems for famous people.

The second reason why I advocate this point of view lies in the fact that following the news of celebrities’ personal lives has negative effects on society, especially, on young people. It does not require great intelligence to ascertain the fact that juveniles follow famous people’s news and know everything about them. They live vicariously through celebrities’ lives and compare them with their own lives. Seeing those luxurious trips, clothes, and unconditional pleasures make the youth believe that there is something missing in their lives. It puts this belief into their minds that physical appearance or financial situation show one’s worth and value. Under such a circumstance, the youth try so hard to prove themselves that they have nothing less. They will start to imitate famous people’s behaviors, and as all of us know, celebrities sometimes promote negative behaviors like smoking weed or addiction. Shoot a short glance at society and it will surely provide you with crystal clear examples of juveniles who have started smoking cigarettes or drinking alcohol after seeing their role model has done this, or have borrowed brand clothes to take pictures and upload them on their pages to show that they have, for instance, Hermes belt like their favorite celebrity. As a result, in my point of view, following the news of celebrities have destructive effects on the youth and society as a whole.

To summarize, given the arguments mentioned above, it seems fair to conclude that celebrities need to have more privacy. I believe this way because not only does this cause mental diseases for famous people, but has disruptive effects on young people and society. Needless to say, my idea brings up a lot of challenges and questions, which go beyond the scope of this essay.