Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The food we ate in the past was healthier than the food we eat today.

Indispensable part of every human being is what to eat. Different people depend on their social level, their ideology and their body’s need consume various nutritional materials. As a matter of fact, some people are vegetarian while others like to eat meat instead of vegetable and fruit. But when it comes to the question that was the foods, which have been eaten in the past, healthier than today foods? Different people give different responds. On the one hand there are people who believes novel technologies and technics in industry and agriculture have brought about healthier foods and on the other hand there are people who believe utilizing chemical manure in agriculture has resulted in non-organic foods which are less healthy than past. As far as I am concerned, the former curries further weight on the account of following primary reasons.

Organic nutritional materials are giving their place to non-organic materials. By advent of chemical manure, hormone and advance industrial tools, agriculture is proceeding to produce large amount of crops, fruits, vegetable in short period in order to meet increasing demand of people no matter how much they have their past quality. In fact, the rate of population of countries is rising and government giving more attention to the amount of materials than improving their quality. For instance, tomatoes should naturally grow in three or four months under continuous irrigation and without any special procedure or using particular manure but today tomatoes grows in one month due to utilizing hormones and chemical manure. Such harmful material will effect on the nutritional aspect of tomatoes as well as their flavor. Therefore, foods made by such unhealthy crops will cause serious disease such as cancer in long later. Such event also happens about meats. In the past, sheep grazed on the villages where there was enough vegetable to eat and they naturally grew up in one year or more but nowadays sheep and cows grow up utilizing by hormone in just six months, therefore, not only they lose their nutritional values but also cause some special disease relating to eating meat.

The tendency of people is changing into eating delicious foods rather than health foods. As we know the necessary condition to make a healthy food is utilizing organic material with high nutritional value but the procedure of cooking also play special role in preserving the food healthy. To illustrate, frying potato in hot oil, although potatoes are organic, causes that they lose their nutritional value and become unhealthy. Furthermore, utilizing different sauces during cooking foods make foods unhealthy although they seem more delicious to the one who wants to eat it. Unfortunately, people today tend to eat delicious foods which have been cooked under inappropriate procedure. For instance, people now like to eat fast foods since they will be ready sooner although they know it is harmful and unhealthy. Another factor which will effect on the quality of foods is the dishes which foods will cook on it. In the past people usually used pottery or coppery dishes but today they use dishes which have been covered by chemical polymers. Such chemical material during cooking will mixed by foods and make them unhealthy.

Preserving procedure although helped people to pass critical situation such as wartime, famine and drought but has had negative effect on the quality of foods. In fact, in the past people should use fresh material to cook since they couldn’t preserve material but nowadays utilizing special technologies people may preserve crops, fruit, vegetable, meat and foods for long time. Such long preservation causes nutritional materials lose their nutritional value and make them unhealthy. For instance, people used fresh meat in the past since there wasn’t refrigerator that time but now people may preserve large amount of meat in their refrigerator in their home. Another example is conserves with artificial preservative materials which can be used for long time. Such artificial preservative material make foods unhealthy.

Taken together, non-organic materials, inappropriate cooking procedures and long preservation has made today foods unhealthier than past foods. Although, as everyone knows every coin has two sides and today foods may be healthier than past foods in some aspects which should be contemplated in order to make accurate analysis.