Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Living in large cities, people typically acquaint with different people with spread spectrum of characters and personalities. Then, they may become closer together and establish a long-term friendship in future. Therefore, the question whether the ability to maintain friednship with the smaller number of people over long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily, has long been a topic of controversy among people and different circels. on the one hand, there are people who adhere to the believe that making new friend is more important since it allows people to receive more help when they encounter a difficulty in their lives from their friends; on the other hand, others believe that maintaining friendship has outstanding merits. As far as I am personally concerned, the latter carries further weight since not only does it allow our friends to discover our characters and personalities more but also is making new relationship is risky and tiem-consuming in such modern day.

Maintaining a relationship for long time will assist people to establish a closer relationship. In fact, having smaller friends will provide people an opportunity to spend more time with them, as a result of which they will be able to greatly discover the characteristics and personalities of their friends. As long as people know much about their friends, they can make them more happy by doing an act which they really like or helping them when they face a severe problem in their lievs. For instance, I am firend with my classmate for 12 years from my childhood, so I know what he really likes, what makes him angry, what he does whan he is nervous and so forth. Therefore, I have happy moments with him since we both know each other and strive to behave in a way that do not destroy our friendship. Subsequently, maintaining relationship for long time bring about more happiness.

Making new friend is very risky and time-taking nowadyas. In fact, people are involved in their daily life which they have not enough time even to spend with their old friend. While making new friends means that they should spend time in order to hang out with them to cement their relationship and if they do not, they will lose their new relationship. For instance, when I was studying abroad I acquainted several intelligent and well-educated person which I really liked to become friend with them but I was overwhelmed with my research and I do not have time to spend with them, as a result of which I could not become friend with them even if I have been there for four years. Furthermore, people nowadays are very different from people twenty years ago. In fact, there are people who establish a friendship so as to achieve their objective not for the sake of freindship itself. Consequently, making new friend will not gaurantee that we will have more happy time with them.

To wrap it up, maintaining an old relationship is more advantageous since no only does it provide people an opportunity to become closer to their friends but also is making new friend very time-taking and sometimes bring about more difficulties. So I prefer to spend my time with my old friends instead of making new friends.