Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should make it possible for all children to attend preschool (early childhood education programs for three-year-olds, for example) at no cost to children’s families.

Preschool will be an imperative education program for most growing children. This will raise the question of whether the government should make it possible for all children to attend preschool at no cost to children’s families. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement.

First of all, a full subsidy could also be provided via other private companies instead of the government because it would be an astronomical amount. For example, the Tainan City government once offered a full subsidy of preschool for every family in Tainan. However, this program would generate a financial scarcity for the local government because it cost about fifty million dollars per year. One year later, the government decided to cooperate with local businesses, like TSMC, which was the top-notch company in Taiwan. They determined to let TSMC burden the total fiscal outcome of this policy. Thus, the government could put more resources into other educational policies and avoid the economic crisis. Moreover, TSMC could also obtain a partial tax deduction. As a result, both the local government and this big company would benefit from this outstanding cooperation. By contrast, if this policy only was fulfilled through the government, it would produce a financial shortage of the local government.

Second, we could provide destitute families with some subsidy instead of offering full financial support to every family. As the example that I mentioned earlier, the Tainan City government provided a full subsidy for every family in Tainan. Yet, the government discovered that some wealthy families didn’t really need this fiscal assistance. Instead, these families could let their children learn many different types of courses, such as piano or painting, which would need more budget than preschool’s tuition fees. Thus, the local government chose to conduct an economic background survey of each family, like the total income of a family. Through this analysis, the government could make the best use of its financial budget to assist many families which were really need this economic aid. In contrast, if the government allot this capital to each family, it would not exploit this educational budget efficiently.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I disagree with the statement. On one hand, this policy could also be offered by other private companies. On the other hand, it would not necessarily be allocated to every family.